Carolina's Breschi Named 2016 Coach of the Year; Full Honors, Awards From IMLCA/Nike Luncheon

Mr. Positive proves his ways

The IMLCA Awards Luncheon presented by Nike, annually provides a jovial respite from the business of the IMCLA Convention. 

The 2016 edition was no different, with emcees Jack Emmer and Richie Meade trading jabs about the Army-Navy game held this weekend on the other side of Baltimore’s Inner Harbor.

“Sink Navy, it’s about time,” Emmer said before presenting the first award, which Meade countered by reminding him of Navy’s 14-game win streak and to, “Remember, I get the mic last.” 

With the collegial environment, there was a serious remembrance of the coaches’ stewardship for the game, with former UMBC and Hopkins coach Don Zimmerman, one of three Lifetime Service Award winners, summing up the sentiment of all the honored coaches. “We are all in it for the right reasons — for the kids,” he said upon receiving his award. “We are privileged to be a part of this game, and we are charged with keeping this game going.”

North Carolina’s Joe Breschi, Le Moyne’s Dan Sheehan and St. Lawrence’s Mike Mahoney all received the Coach of the Year awards. Zimmerman, the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy’s Tom Gill, and Delaware coach Bob Shillinglaw received Lifetime Service Awards, and former Virginia coach Dom Starsia was honored with the Nike Creator’s Award. 

Breschi, in accepting his award, thanked the coaching body for how it helped him during the passing of his son Michael in 2004.

“I want to thank all of you, my fellow coaches and the IMLCA. I would not be here if it wasn’t for you,” Breschi said. “If it wasn’t for the strength of this group. … if it wasn’t for this group here I wouldn’t be standing here today.”

Full award winners:

Assistant of the Year

DIII: Tom Ryan, St. Lawrence
DII: Chris Burdick, Tampa
DI: Dave Metzbower, North Carolina

Scott Livie Award — JuCo Coach of the Year
Dave Stein, Finger Lakes

Coach of the Year
DIII: Mike Mahoney, St. Lawrence
DII: Dan Sheehan, Le Moyne
DI: Joe Breschi, North Carolina

USILA Doyle Smith Media Award
Paul Carcaterra, ESPN

USILA Howdy Myers Man of the Year Award
Joe Amplo, Marquette

USILA Frenchy Julien Service Award
Willie Scroggs, North Carolina

Lifetime Service Award
Bob Shillinglaw, Delaware
Tom Gill, United States Merchant Marine Academy
Don Zimmerman, UMBC

“Extra Man” Award
Danielle Josetti, Marquette

NILCA Coach of the Year
Andy Hilgartner, McDonogh (Md.)

Creator’s Award
Dom Starsia, Virginia